With Pride

Usually people don’t like it when someone draws attention to himself. But there is one instance when it is not only acceptable, but I believe desirable. Today while I was in McDonald’s eating a hearty breakfast, I noticed an elderly couple. The man had a hat on which had on it what looked like some sort of military insignias together with the words “I served with pride.” It was clear to me that he was pointing out to anyone who would read his hat that he had honorably served in the United States armed services. Looking in his 80s, I wondered if he might have served in WWII. I always think of my father, Berton, who also served in the military. He was in the 94th infantry in the European theater in Checkoslovokia and later was re-called to Pussan, South Korea. If my dad were alive today, I would want him to wear his “I served with pride” had too. Thank you sir for you service to our country, and thank you for the pleasant reminded of my late father.

Leave a Reply

